Wednesday, March 25

Mar. 26th, 2026 01:04 am
gottawonder: (Default)
[personal profile] gottawonder
Today I am grateful for:

Okay sleep.

Getting up in decent time, so that I was ready for the vet's arrival.

They were coming today to x-ray Dandy's front hooves, to see if any of the bones had shifted from his inflammation.

That meant getting out to the barn with Dandy so that we could do it on a level surface out of the weather.

Dandy didn't want to go through the "man door", so I had to open the front, but then it was fine.

The barn is mainly used for hay storage, and he doesn't go in there very often.

The vet techs needed him to stand on a special platform to take the images, and he did very well with doing that. He was very good, considering he's not used to being in the barn, new people, and so on.

They will send me the images and the interpretation.

Then I did chores, put a blanket on Wonder because she was wet from the snow, and it was going to get colder, and so on.

Then I went to the barn for our lesson. By then the snow had stopped, and was a little nicer.

We worked on elements for our freestyle for the most part, both on the ground and mounted.

We demonstrated what we could do so far with the garrocha, which was pretty good for so little experience. R was really stoked about it, she hasn't worked with one before, so since River is pretty cool with it, she hopped on and gave it a shot.

I think she's intrigued by it, and found it surprisingly challenging.

Then chatted with the group in the barn with the person having her lesson after us.

Then I headed home.

I did put Dandy out with Wonder, since she was done eating (very important now that he not get extra food).

He seemed comfortable moving around and voluntarily trotted.

Then my Sweetie started supper, I kind of finished it, and we watched another episode of "Dark". It's making a bit more sense after my reading of a wiki page about the series and the connections between everyone.

Challenge #559

Mar. 25th, 2026 08:53 pm
shivver: (musicspheres)
[personal profile] shivver posting in [community profile] tenminutesaday
Write a scene in which your character engages in one of their skills or interests. For example, Martha treating someone who's hurt, Peri examining a plant, Turlough drawing, Clara teaching a class. It could be their vocation, it could be something they're an expert in, or it could just be a hobby. You don't need to get technical or describe exactly what they're doing, but they should actually be doing it, not just talking about it with someone.

Tuesday, March 24

Mar. 25th, 2026 12:15 am
gottawonder: (Default)
[personal profile] gottawonder
Today I am grateful for:

Decent sleep.

Today was colder and snowing, but I think that's easier to deal with than freezing rain.

I did general busy things like put water in the cat tower and launder dog diapers, and feed everyone.

Then I managed to finagle the very long garrocha into my little car by having part of it stick out of a back window (safely, on the passenger side so it wouldn't be on the side facing traffic) so that I could take it to the barn to work with.

River was a bit agitated today, and actually calling for his friends when we were in the arena. He is generally not "buddy sour", and yet lately he's been a bit anxious about being alone.

R's daughter L came out and rode with us, which is good because then River was okay, but it's also nice to have someone to ride with.

I worked on elements that I hope to use in the freestyle, and then tried the garrocha. It's an interesting tool to work with. L tried it too.

My Sweetie showed up part way through, so that was nice too. I think he was pleased to see me try out the garrocha.

Then for a few minutes R and the person having a lesson tonight were in the barn as we were cleaning up, and we were all chatting and being social. That was nice.

We went home, and though it was snowing quite a lot the roads were okay.

I made supper and then we watched another episode of "Dark". I spent some time earlier today looking at a fan wiki page so that I had a better idea of who all the characters are, and how they are related (there's a LOT of characters, grouped into families, and they are all either sleeping with each other or are tied in other important ways that are hard to keep track of). It helped, though the whole concept of what the heck is happening besides "time travel" is murky.

Monday, March 22

Mar. 23rd, 2026 11:21 pm
gottawonder: (Default)
[personal profile] gottawonder
Today I am grateful for:

Okay sleep.

Making an appointment to get Dandy's front hooves x-rayed for the farrier.

I'm starting to feel like the next week or so is going to be a bit busy. Sigh.

Doing usual chores and such, then cleaned up and headed to town.

Friend D was at pottery today, and she's had a rough couple of weeks. She's trying to move from her house to her apartment, so that's a big deal of itself, but she's got a lot going on with her parents, whose health isn't great.

Two of my vases came back from being bisque fired, so I put glaze on them and now they're headed back to the kiln, though it might take awhile. The studio had some issues with a kiln so they're backed up.

For whatever reason, I felt really low energy today, but I kept going.

I shuffled my way through getting groceries, though it wasn't a huge haul today.

I am grateful to be able to get groceries.

It is very nice to have so much daylight still when I'm driving home after pottery/groceries. The hardest part of winter for me is just how dark it is all the time.

I got home and my Sweetie was outside with Roxy. He had been taking some of the stockpiled cat litter (wood pellets) to the area where we dump it (has been difficult to get out there). He also moved the garrocha down into the basement to make it possible for me to varnish it. I don't know how he got it down there.

Then we kind of half and half made supper together, and watched another fairly baffling episode of "Dark". I don't know if I can stand watching all of it if it's going to be this "mysterious" and dark colored and confusing the whole time.

I can barely even keep the characters straight because the English dubbing makes all of them sound the same.

Sunday, March 21

Mar. 22nd, 2026 11:47 pm
gottawonder: (Default)
[personal profile] gottawonder
Today I am grateful for:

Sleep.

No need to rush into the day.

My Sweetie did some sanding on the garrocha pole. It's pretty smooth. Next is maybe a finer grit, then sealing.

I talked with Sister E today. She had actually made the effort to phone me a few days ago, but I was at the barn and couldn't talk, so I called her back today.

As usual, she was trying to do other things during our call, like walk the dog and talking to other people, though I sensed she was trying (?).

We did talk about things I was doing and experiencing, and that was good.

Their dog is still experiencing a lot of stomach upset. Sister E is going to aquacise classes which she says are really helping her shoulder.

Then we did chores, and headed to the barn.

It was pretty warm and nice today.

River did really well today overall. His breathing was good, though it was warmer, and he was reasonably forward while staying focused.

I enjoy days like this where he's able to focus and we can have fun.

Then we came home, my Sweetie made supper and baked his banana loaves, and we watched an older movie; "War on Everyone".

Saturday, March 21

Mar. 21st, 2026 11:54 pm
gottawonder: (Default)
[personal profile] gottawonder
Today I am grateful for:

Decent sleep, though lately it feels like I rarely get uninterrupted "whole" sleep.

When I got up, my Sweetie said we should go to the city, since Dan wasn't working today. We hadn't discussed this earlier, but okay.

I mainly wanted to go back to the fabric store to find a material to line the cape I'm making, so we did.

I did find some material that I think will look great, and also some other stuff. A yard of material to make tea towels, as it was this nice smooth cotton that I especially like for some reason.

Then we went to buy tickets for the movie (Project Hail Mary) early so that it didn't sell out before we got there (if we just got them at the door).

Then we walked around the box stores near the theater. We went into Winner's just for entertainment.

Then I went into Sephora and did find things. I haven't been there in forever.

Then we went to a Barburrito which was okay, at least it checks off the boxes. It's not as good a chain as Mucho Burrito, but it did the job.

Then we went to the theater, and we had opted for the Imax version. We hadn't been to one in years, and it seemed like a good movie to see in that format.

Our seats were way too close to the screen (only the front rows were left), and we were able to move back one row after a while, which was oddly quite a lot better for only being one row back.

The show said it started at 7pm, we sat down about a quarter to seven, and the movie didn't start until about twenty minutes after seven. So over half an hour of way too loud, choppy and annoying movie trailers and ads for other things that were driving me absolutely mad. I keep saying we need to be smarter about just sitting outside the theater and sticking our heads in to see if it's the movie yet, but we never seem to do that.

Anyhow, the movie itself was very good. Wonderful to look at, excellent effects, and though a lot of it wasn't improved for being on a bigger screen, the space shots were great at that size.

Of course the science wasn't perfect, as many will point out, but it was more of a buddy movie anyhow.

I enjoyed it, and found it to be quite immersive.

Friday, March 20

Mar. 21st, 2026 02:18 am
gottawonder: (Default)
[personal profile] gottawonder
Today I am grateful for:

Decent sleep.

I did usual animal care, and washed the mountain of dishes.

I did some drumming again with the metronome, and I was able to hold a rhythm for quite some time this way.

It was windy, hovering at zero, and raining most of the day. I put a blanket on Wonder though she wasn't too wet, and the ponies seemed fine without blankets.

I texted the farrier to see when she can come and trim.

Then I went to see River, going to get fuel first.

The gravel roads were sloppy and rutted, and a bit of an ordeal. The paved roads were wet but otherwise fine.

River did well with the "teacup" exercise, as well as somehow being able to do a very good turn on his hindquarters that eluded him on Wednesday when we were trying to do them in a competition class.

The young woman with health issues did come for a lesson today, and I stayed to work with one of R's horses (Maverick). L was also there working with another horse, so it was fairly social.

By then the rain had turned to snow, and R's husband K just got back from town, and said the roads had turned to a sheet of ice. He was worried about me driving home, and was almost insisting that I stay with them...?

Well, I didn't think it was THAT bad, so what I did do was to make sure my husband came to the barn after the climbing gym so that we could go home together.

That seemed to satisfy K.

Well, the snow actually seemed to improve the roads, and by the time my husband and I drove home I didn't think it was all that bad. You just can't drive like an idiot. We drove fairly slow, and gave lots of time for stops and turns etc.

My Sweetie made supper and ate with me (yay!) and we watched an episode of "Dark".

Challenge 558

Mar. 20th, 2026 09:22 pm
romanajo123: (Default)
[personal profile] romanajo123 posting in [community profile] tenminutesaday
( It’s been a Day, so word challenge this time.

Day/ Night. Two opposite’s. Interpret how you want.

Thursday, March 19

Mar. 20th, 2026 12:07 am
gottawonder: (Default)
[personal profile] gottawonder
Today I am grateful for:

That the first sanding of the drywall took place this morning.

As per our request, the crew didn't play loud dance music. They did choose to use loud "outdoor" voices and have an argument. I think they stand right underneath the vent to the bedroom to yell.

So I didn't sleep well.

Roxie is a smart dog. While she did get up and investigate the porch door, she didn't bark at the work crew today because she likely remembers them from last time(she did bark the first time) and that I said they were "okay". She laid back down and went back to sleep fairly quickly.

Back when we had the furnace/duct guys coming in and out of our basement unannounced for an entire winter, she got so that she didn't even get up anymore when they came to work.

I got up, did usual chores and animal care, swabbed at my body a bit, and headed to town to pick up the mail.

I would rather not spend my "free" Thursday doing this, but it seems that for now it must be so.

I got the mail, and paid the bills that were there.

Then I went to the thrift store, and enjoyed my time there. I tried to be very picky about my selections, and found a silk scarf, an actual cashmere sweater, and a cotton dress shirt, as well as a few books. I also got a sheer flowy pink skirt that looks like a dance costume, that given my hobbies might be useful one day. Or I can just prance around in it at home.

Then I consulted my Sweetie, and since I forgot carrots on Monday, went to fill in the gaps in our groceries. I got some extra veggies for him, and a few other things. Hopefully it will mean Monday's run can be a bit less huge.

There was a hilarious woman working at the till, so that was nice.

I started the day feeling tired and stricken with my usual feeling of unease that seems to be a recurring shadow, but the drive to town in the golden sunshine of early spring and managing okay with traffic and other humans eased things.

Getting the mail and paying bills without undue struggle helped.

So, I was feeling pretty relaxed and happy that I got something done without overexertion.

My Sweetie did a very nice thing for me today. I've been researching and trying to find something called a "garrocha" pole used in equestrian work. They are not common at all here, and R and I have been trying to figure out how to get one or make one.

I've asked my husband before if he could make one, and that was last year. He ended up at that time buying a pole meant for painting with a roller that extended, and while it kinda sorta worked, it lacked appeal.

Today he found a long piece of heavy closet rod made out of wood (12 feet long! The approximate length of a garrocha.) It should work!

Then we came in, and I made my own supper and he CHOSE to just eat cereal (sigh) and he opted to scroll silly videos for half an hour instead of watching a show together.

He was "too tired" and "needed to go to bed" so he didn't watch a show, but spent an equal amount of time watching short attention span videos about cats and fat mermaid dudes. Okay.

I am excited about the garrocha, though there is more work that must be done on it before it can be considered ready. It needs to be sanded and sealed in some way, and I will likely need to make a hand grip somewhere.
armaina: (taithal bleh)
[personal profile] armaina
There is a very frustrating thing that occurs when I say that I don't play or like PVP games and that's for someone to follow up with stating their particular game of choice 'isn't that bad' rather than just letting me be, it gets exhausting.

The only time I have ever played and enjoyed PVP is in closed circuit games where it's a lobby of just yourself and your friends and you're just goofing off with no real stakes or losses. Like old deathmatch arenas and fighting games with friends. There's no ranks, no stakes, and no progress to loose. Or the occassional 'party game'. And even then, I can only put maybe an hour or two into it and then I'm disinterested.

I am not 'great' at video games, I have to fail an awful lot to be any decent at it and even then I'm only mediocre. I'm fine with this. Failure on its own doesn't bother me. What bothers me is loss of progress and my teammates being upset with me because I fumbled. This only amplifies when PVP is involved. When it's free for all pvp, then it's frustrating because I'll just get no where because most people are better than me and I'll make no progress and have to sit through more and more matches just to meet bare minimum requirements to progress. Or if it's not match based but still solo PVP, the whole act of playing it feels on a razer wire because I could loose progress at any time and then what even is the point? And if it's team matches, then I have the anxiety of failing people in the team.

In parties of 4 it gets very easy to see who the weak link is, and because of the nature of PVP, people are very unkind to failure. People will claim that they're okay with it, but I hear it, I hear them trash talk their teammates when they're not up to snuff. Never giving space for people to learn or just be bad at something for a while until they get better at it. And they think that this doesn't effect the other people around them. I know what you all think of people that play poorly, and I play poorly, why do you all think that kind of talk would have no impact on me? So every time I loose in a team I think of how they would think of me, how they're angry at my failure, how they wish I weren't playing so they wouldn't be 'stuck' with someone so bad at the game. I am okay with failure, (unless I loose progress but that's it's own vector) but some people really, really are not. And in PVP, the need for success amplifies even more so than in co-op games because people's ranks are on the line. Take all that anxiety I already get with high stakes team play and then add the element that you're now also playing with other people, and that all gets amplified.

The only PVP I've been able to tollerate is ones with a strong PVE element which has only been possible in Gambit in Destiny 2, and World vs World in Guild Wars 2. Because in these I can largely focus on the PVE part and not the PVP part. Gambit's PVE is really important, so being good at that helps the overall match and I don't feel like a complete failure. Guild Wars 2's World vs World is a little less PVE intensive but the PVP part is handled by being in large swarms, so my personal failures don't stand out and I don't have people in chat yelling at me. More importantly, both games do not result in me loosing progress if I die. I can die dozens of times without penalty. That being said, if I could play those games without touching the game modes at all, I absolutely would. I only played those modes for certain progress requirements, not because I enjoyed them.

And then there's the matter that I just don't enjoy it. Sure I could triple up on anxiety meds and maybe not feel like my chest is caving in when I play a PVP game, but it's also just not enjoyable. Why waste my time on the potential that I might feel a high with certain big stakes when I could, instead, play a game I actually enjoy playing without the crushing weight of anxiety. So not only is it anxiety inducing, it's also just not my idea of fun.

So all that said, it gets really exhausting, when I say I don't play PVP and someone still tries to sell me on their PVP game. 'Oh it's not that bad', 'Oh I don't usually like pvp but'

I DON'T LIKE PVP!!
FULL STOP!!!
IT IS NOT FUN FOR ME!!!
STOP TRYING TO SELL ME ON YOUR PVP GAME!!!

Stop trying to apply your perception of mild aversion being the same as my intense level of discomfort and anxiety I have around the game type. What might be 'not that bad' for you, is still pretty dang bad for me and I'm tired of it being brushed aside like my discomfort and ability to enjoy it a all isn't even a factor worth incorporating.

Challenge #557

Mar. 18th, 2026 11:16 pm
shivver: (musicspheres)
[personal profile] shivver posting in [community profile] tenminutesaday
Just Write! Take the snippet below, insert your own characters, and write the next two sentences (or more if you are so inspired)!

The longer [character A name] stared at [character B name], sitting across the room and seemingly oblivious to [A's possessive pronoun] scrutiny, the more [A's pronoun] wondered if [B's pronoun] knew how captivating [B's pronoun] was.

Wednesday, March 18

Mar. 18th, 2026 11:19 pm
gottawonder: (Default)
[personal profile] gottawonder
Today I am grateful for:

Decent sleep.

The man we helped get off the highway last night came back today with a different truck and a flat deck trailer to come get his dead truck out of our yard.

It took him a LOOONG time to get the truck onto the trailer. It might have gone faster with another person.

I went outside after eating and feeding indoor animals, to see how he was doing, as well as to wish him well since he had another four hour drive back home ahead of him.

He insisted on giving me some cash, since my husband went above and beyond helping him last night. I did try to turn it down, since that's not why we help people, but I also see how he might have felt like he needed to give us some money for helping him out.

Anyhow, he got on his way, and later that night my husband texted him and made sure he got home safely.

I did normal chores and such, and checked on my drying tea pot in the studio.

I went to the barn, today we recorded two classes for an upcoming virtual show.

The first pattern went well, the second one shouldn't have given us any grief, but River "forgot" how to do a turn on his hindquarters properly. I got pretty frustrated, which is tough when you are trying to record for a show, because you can only run through a pattern so many times before both of you get burned right out, and there's only so much time in the lesson (I need R to record for us).

I COULD get my husband to record it, but the video is due soon.

My husband did show up partway through.

Anyhow, we ended up doing the second pattern just about perfectly on every other element besides the mediocre turn on hindquarters, which R adamantly asserts won't affect our score that badly, so I guess that's the recording we'll go with.

It still left me feeling overwhelmed and frustrated, as the combination of trying to be perfect, being recorded, and having time constraints often burns me out completely.

I did chat with L for a while. She was working with dogs and owners in an obedience class in the upstairs room above the barn, and came down to the barn afterwards. I showed her the cape I'm working on, and we just shot the shit for a while.

We went home, and my Sweetie made supper. We didn't watch anything tonight, as he just needed to get some sleep as early as possible since he didn't get much sleep last night.

Tuesday, March 17

Mar. 18th, 2026 12:08 am
gottawonder: (Default)
[personal profile] gottawonder
Today I am grateful for:

Okay sleep.

Getting up and doing my thing, and feeling less anxious.

I did do more cleaning. Dog diaper laundry, dog blanket laundry. I swept and washed the floor in both the small porch and the mud room, which is quite a job.

Then I tried to do some kind of cleaning of the big desk where our computer, and everything else we own lives. It gets stacked with papers and books and odds and ends, and then it gets dusty, and you have to take everything out of the cubbies and off of the surface to try to clean it.

I got everything off and did the dusting, now I have to go through everything I took off and decide what goes back, and what goes somewhere else or gets tossed.

Our whole house needs cleaning. Sigh.

Then I did the usual chores, and headed to the barn.

River did well today, though started off very sluggish. It was warm today, about 10 C, and I think he was hoping he could nap.

It was nice to work with him in such pleasant weather.

On the drive home, I saw a truck stopped on the highway near our place. It was oddly not even really pulled over, just sort of stopped in the lane, and the truck didn't have it's four ways on.

I pulled over ahead of him and asked if he was okay, and he said he had someone coming to get him but it would take them four hours to get there, and he said something about needing to leave his truck there on the side of the road for a day or two.

He wasn't being very smart about being safe, as he was leaving his door open and just walking around, not seeming to check for traffic (there wasn't a lot, but you still look).

I told him that my husband was likely at home, and if wanted, we could likely at least tow him somewhere safer.

So I did.

Then I moved my car so that I was parked behind him so that I could put my four way flashers on, and protect him from oncoming traffic because he didn't seem to have working flashers, though he did pull out some kind of light for the roof of his truck. It was getting dark enough that if he just stayed where he was, barely pulled over, he would probably get struck by another vehicle.

My husband showed up right away, this guy was less than a mile from our house.

It was decided that we would take him to our yard, and my husband decided to drive him to a town where he could at least sit in a restaurant and wait for his ride instead of sitting on the side of the road for four hours.

So, now we have this guy's truck in our yard, and his nephew is supposed to be coming to get it with a flat deck trailer at some point.

Well, we'll see. If we have to, we can get Tim to take it to his mechanic's shop, and it can sit in his yard if it takes longer than a couple of days.

I thought this guy was odd, to not even be trying to call a tow truck to just go back the way he came, to just get back to town and maybe get a hotel until morning to see what the truck needed, or something. He just got back from vacation in Mexico, and was driving home, but didn't have the money to get a tow truck?

My husband didn't get home until nearly ten, meaning he's not getting much sleep tonight.

I did make him something to eat first.

Monday, March 16

Mar. 16th, 2026 11:38 pm
gottawonder: (Default)
[personal profile] gottawonder
Today I am grateful for:

Good sleep.

Heading to town after usual chores and such.

I first went to H&R Block to finish my tax return, which required my signature. Done.

Then I went to pottery, and the vase I sent to glaze firing last week is back, and it's a very rustic look. I like it.

I didn't have time to throw anything, but someone who was retiring from pottery was giving away a box of tools for people to take what they wanted. I took several, so that I could have tools that I could leave at the studio in town instead of having to take my tote with me every week. I used to leave it at the studio, but now that we have ours at home, I bring it home. If I have a few tools at the studio, I won't have to do that.

I felt that the cat urn was dry enough to put on the cart to be bisque fired.

Then I went to a phone repair place to see what could be done about my charging port. The person there said it likely needs to be replaced, but he was closing soon so I would have to go back another time and allow more time. He said 90 minutes.

He did have a charging cable there to test my phone's ability to charge, and that cable actually seemed to do a decent job of charging it. I bought one that was the same, and when I plugged everything in, my phone seemed to be charging.

This last two weeks or so, my phone was only charging if I wiggled it and had it sitting JUST so. I wasn't sure if it was the phone or if it was the cables. This person today seemed to think it was the phone, but he does have a vested interest in suggesting it's the phone.

Well, we'll see how it goes.

Then I went to get groceries. I got a few things for the food bank, spices (which I never seem to see in the donation bin, always the cheapest pasta and sauce) as well as peanut butter and jam so that someone could have them together.

I do tend to buy something to donate most of the time, and if anything, it makes me more grateful to be able to buy groceries since I get to choose what we eat.

I am grateful to be able to buy groceries.

I came home right as my Sweetie came home too, so he was able to help with groceries, which is always appreciated.

I did put Dandy in with Wonder, after all her hay is cleaned up so that Dandy isn't getting more than he needs.

He seemed to be moving okay. I won't ask him to trot when I'm leading him, I will wait until he offers it.

Then we came in, I did dishes and made supper.

We watched an episode of "Dark", which is sure sticking to the heavy, super creepy vibe, but at least the story is forming up.

Fill- Challenge 556 (DW/BFA)

Mar. 16th, 2026 07:50 pm
romanajo123: (Default)
[personal profile] romanajo123 posting in [community profile] tenminutesaday
( Trying to fix this)


  The automatic lights in the TARDIS library dimmed- it was late afternoon, or what could be a close guess as to late afternoon in the TARDIS. 

Charley sat on one of the plush couches, nose in a book, while the Doctor  dozed .  His four legs wrapped around like a little green ball. 

He'd been like this for hours now- an ordeal with an Evil Queen and a cursed dagger. Now he was cursed to be a dragon.

Charley turned a page, humming to herself before feeling  several hot puffs of smoke coe over her like a wind. 

"Doctor?" she asked, looking down at him.  His blue-green eyes opened a quarter inch and he let out a gentle purr. 

"Do you understand me?" she asked, placing the book on the table near her tea.  "Do you want something?" 

The Doctor gave a yawn, and  another burst of smoke.   Turning his head ever so slightly, he bobbed it towards the table.

"The book?" Charley thought for a moment.  "Or do you want the tea?" 

The Doctor sniffed at the cup. 

Sunday, March 15

Mar. 15th, 2026 11:43 pm
gottawonder: (Default)
[personal profile] gottawonder
Today I am grateful for:

Sleeping somewhat through Dan and my Sweetie sanding the floor in the bedroom to be. It led to some very strange dreams indeed.

Very strange.

At some point I got up from my half hallucination half sleep state, and after eating and feeding indoor critters I went to look at the floor.

It looks great, nice and clean and smooth. It still needs a fine sanding, which will likely happen next weekend, but it's looking great.

My Sweetie and I chatted with Dan for a while, as he and his wife are looking at acreages. We shared some of our experiences and wisdom, for what's it's worth.

My Sweetie also did some wiring up in the little room, so that the mud/tape guys have light in there.

Then I did outside chores, and headed to the barn. My Sweetie stayed home to fix the porch light switch. It's a "remote light switch", which isn't wired into the house as my husband said that for the time being, he can't find a way to get a wire into that part of the house, so this is a battery operated switch that turns the light on and off in that room. They just burn out after several years and need replacing.

River was good, and we did good work today overall, though he is forever weird about doing a side pass correctly.

We did some good work with the things I want in our freestyle.

It was also only -2C today, which was pretty nice, especially combined with some sunshine.

When I came home, I looked at Dandy to see how he's doing today, and he seems to be moving around fairly well. I did cut back on their feed, though I would have thought I wasn't over feeding them, I must have been.

Yes, he's cresty when you actually examine his neck under his very heavy mane, and a bit heavy, but it's so tough with a pony to keep them trim. They don't get enough exercise in the winter, and you feel like you have to feed them enough to stay warm when it's -25 C. This is a very hard balancing act.

Then I came in, and my Sweetie was just finishing up on the light switch.

I made his "salads" for the week, and when he got out of the tub he made supper, and we watched the first episode of "Dark", which is one of those very convoluted shows that I'm not sure I'll get into or not, but we'll give it a shot.

I would like more seasons of "Dark Horses" though. It was very interesting.

Saturday, March 14

Mar. 14th, 2026 12:58 am
gottawonder: (Default)
[personal profile] gottawonder
Today I am grateful for:

My Sweetie got up to go to town, though it meant I just didn't sleep. There were just too many "things" going on today in the house and I can't sleep knowing that my husband is heading out, and Dan is on the way, and so on.

It sucks.

I often feel like in order to have things progress on the house, I just have to live with the lack of sleep.

Anyhow, my husband did go to the pottery studio, and no one showed up. It's not his fault, though it didn't help that he waited a long time to actually commit to doing it, and took his sweet time getting his outline to the person organizing it, and so on.

He did stay and condition some old clay of ours that I was soaking.

Then he did drop off the truck load of things we were happy to move along to the ReStore (I'm happy that I made that suggesting so that he didn't waste a trip to town).

Then he went to H&R Block to look at the tax paperwork, only to discover that they didn't include the tax deductions from our contributions to RRSPs. I mean, that information shows up when you look people up on Revenue Canada...? We even TOLD them we made contributions.

So I guess now we have to get a form from the bank, but I don't know why we didn't get one already? We made the contribution in January.

Dan did show up at 1pm, just like we agreed, and started working on the floor. He will have to come back tomorrow morning. Sigh.

We need to figure out now what we will use to seal the floor. Dan is suggesting this wax/oil based sealant, and I guess he's used it before. I need to research this, as I have concerns about what would happen if you want to sand it again later, etc.

Then we went to the city. We tried to pick up the mail, but the post office is closed Saturdays. Sigh.

We went to a costume store to see if they had a cape similar to a bullfighter's cape that I might use in my Liberty Freestyle. They did, but only as a rental (three days and too much money).

I almost laughed at the "spanish bolero" you could rent. It was not very well made by cutting down a men's formal jacket with some bad trim added to it. You could rent it for three days for SIXTY DOLLARS.

I had hoped to buy a cape, but instead they had patterns. I'm not much of a seamstress, but maybe I could manage a simple cape.

Then we went to a fabric store, and I bought some very cheap red fabric to make a first attempt, maybe more (there's lots of it) and some nice red satin if I feel confident enough to cut it. I bought some nice gold trim for adding to a vest or a jacket.

We then went to a thrift store and found a plain black vest that will look "Spanish" if I add the gold trim and maybe change the buttons. I can wear it over a white shirt, add a black ribbon tie, and off we go.

Then we ate at one of last "usual" vegan places, and I was happy to be there. They did a good job on the Brussels sprouts.

Then we came home, and watched "Deadpool vs. Wolverine" which is mindless tripe for the most part, but fun to watch.
mark: A photo of Mark kneeling on top of the Taal Volcano in the Philippines. It was a long hike. (Default)
[staff profile] mark posting in [site community profile] dw_maintenance

Happy Saturday!

I'm going to be doing a little maintenance today. It will likely cause a tiny interruption of service (specifically for www.dreamwidth.org) on the order of 2-3 minutes while some settings propagate. If you're on a journal page, that should still work throughout!

If it doesn't work, the rollback plan is pretty quick, I'm just toggling a setting on how traffic gets to the site. I'll update this post if something goes wrong, but don't anticipate any interruption to be longer than 10 minutes even in a rollback situation.

January 2026

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 08:12 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios